Diablo IV beta: invitations, platforms, content… all the info

Blizzard was present at the Xbox showcase to show us the latest new features of the game and the time has now come for the developers to detail the different phases of the Diablo IV beta and its content.

How do I participate in the Diablo IV beta?

First, be aware that the Diablo IV beta is referred to by Blizzard as a high-level restricted beta. This means that those selected will have access to “solid high-level content from Diablo IV using specific game data”.

As announced earlier, this is a private beta. No need to search for the Diablo IV beta on the Microsoft Store or elsewhere, no access will be given publicly and you will have to be one of the lucky ones. The developers will select players who have spent significant time on Diablo 2: Resurrected and Diablo 3. If this is the case, be sure to allow Blizzard to contact you in the privacy options in Battle. net or the brand launcher:

  • Visit the Battle.net site or launch the Battle.net app.
  • Click on your nickname displayed at the top right of the screen, then on “Account settings” or “View account” depending on your platform.
  • Click on the “Privacy and communication” section of the menu then scroll down the page to “Communication preferences”.
  • Click “Update” and make sure “News and Special Offers from Battle.net” is enabled.

If you are selected, an email will be sent to you by November 18. If this is not the case, it is because we will have to wait for the open beta of Diablo IV at the beginning of 2023.

On which platforms can I play the Diablo IV beta?

The High Level Closed Beta will be playable on PC and Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PlayStation 5, and PlayStation 4 consoles. Cross-play and shared progression will also be available for all platforms.

Blizzard also recalls that this restricted beta will be confidential, which means that invited players will not be able to speak publicly about their gaming experience or share it. So be sure to stick to the agreement you agreed to. An in-game tool will be available to share your comments and feedback.

What’s in the beta?

Blizzard prefers not to reveal the full story of Lilith’s return to Sanctuary before the game’s release. The beta will therefore offer “a version of Sanctuary after the end of the campaign”.

Blizzard discusses various challenges to be met through a high-level experience and specifies the details of the five available contents:

hellish waves

While traversing Sanctuary on foot or with your trusty steed, look carefully around you, because you could find yourself in a hellish wave. This is a new region event that is only available to heroes and heroines who have reached world level 3: Nightmare. During a hellish wave, Lilith’s servants are reinforced and therefore more difficult to slay, but they offer loot worthy of the danger involved. Its most powerful lackeys are also more numerous, and the very land of Sanctuary is warped by the onslaught of demonic activity.

When you take down the monstrosities that make up the Hellwave, they have a chance to grant you Embers, a new currency that can be spent to open Hellwave Chests scattered around the affected region. These chests contain generous bonuses dedicated to a single item slot, such as torso, legs, or two-handed weapons. But be careful when accumulating your embers: if you fall in battle, they will be lost and you will have to recover them.

Nightmare Dungeons

We’ve created a level of difficulty for dungeons straight out of your nightmares. If so, really! Nightmare difficulty dungeons in Diablo IV can be accessed once you have found your first Nightmare Emblem. Each emblem corresponds to a specific dungeon somewhere in Sanctuary. These emblems add special modifiers to their respective dungeons, increasing the ferocity of the minions of the Underworld waiting for you there as well as the rarity level of the loot. Completing Nightmare Dungeons will drop you even more powerful emblems, giving you access to even more dangerous mods and challenges to overcome. As you progress through higher and more difficult world levels, new Nightmare Dungeons will become available.

whispers of the dead

The Tree of Whispers needs your help to close some outstanding cases. On your map, you will be able to see several whispers scattered around Sanctuary. By completing the tasks corresponding to them, you will obtain experience, gold and sinister favors. The number of Grim Boons received from completing a Whisper varies, but once you’ve obtained 10 Grim Boons from the dead, you can trade them to the Whisper Tree for a slew of loot and experience to reward your heroism.

The types of whispers visible on the map change frequently and new ones will appear throughout the day. Each Whisper offers a different set of rewards and experience when you complete its task.

Normally, the whispers of the dead system is only available to players who have completed a specific chapter of the main quest. In the Restricted Beta, players will be able to interact with this system from the start.

Fields of Hatred

Out of his contempt for mortals, Mephisto cursed certain areas of Sanctuary and turned them into terrible fields of Hate. These dedicated PvP areas are the perfect place for players looking to earn fame through blood and zeal. In the Fields of Hatred, players can slay demons to harvest Seeds of Hatred. To use these seeds, you will need to take them to the Extraction Altar where they can be ground into red dust. Quickly convert your Hate Seeds into red dust: they will be coveted by your opponents lurking in the area and if they are skilled enough to defeat you in battle, your Hate Seeds will be lost.

The trouble of turning your seeds of Hate into red dust is worth it. The red dust will not be lost if you are defeated. It can also be spent at cosmetic and PvP mount vendors for cosmetic rewards. Will you be able to forge a reputation in these corrupted lands?

Paragon Trays

Upon reaching level 50, you’ll unlock the Paragon Boards, a high-level character development system designed to increase the powers of your hero or heroine. As you gain experience, you will earn paragon points. These points can be spent to unlock new titles, new sockets, and even additional paragon boards to further customize your hero or heroine and reach new heights of power!

As a reminder, Diablo IV should be released in the course of 2023 on PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S. A trailer and the launch of pre-orders are expected in early December.

Leave a Comment