Fernando Alonso barked in the F1 qualifier – Max Verstappen first and Valtteri Bottas eleven: & quot; I was unlucky & quot;

In Canada, a Formula 1 race is on the program at 9 pm on Sunday night. Late on Saturday night, the drivers settled the starting lineup in a rainy Montreal.

Max Verstappen won the qualifier by a clear margin (0.645 seconds) to Fernando Alonso in second place. The 40-year-old Alonso most recently pinched a place in the first starting line-up ten years ago, in Germany in 2012.

After the qualifier, Alpine driver Alonso jokingly said that he intends to attack Verstappen in the first corner in order to lead the race for at least a while.

Carlos Sainz finished third in his Ferrari and Lewis Hamilton, who had a lead-heavy start to the season, had the fourth best time.

– I can not describe how happy I am, says Mercedes driver Hamilton after his best qualifier for the year.

– In dry conditions, we are still a good distance behind, but to pinch a place among the top four in these conditions is fantastic.

Bottas happy with the car

Valtteri Bottas finished eleven and thus did not manage to get to the last qualifying session.

– I was unlucky. I was probably one of the first to finish in a situation where the track kept getting better.

The Finn had problems with his Alfa Romeo during Friday’s training.

– We managed to fix the car and it worked well. But of course it would have been fun to start from a better position, says Bottas.

Valtteri Bottas on the wet track.

Photo: EPA-EFE / All Over Press

Bottas defeated Red Bull driver Sergio Perez, who drove out during the qualifiers. Perez starts from box 13.

Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc, who came to Canada with four straight qualifying victories, starts from box 19. He has had his car fixed and thus went on a penalty.

The competition in Canada is the first in three years. The races 2020 and 2021 were canceled due to the corona pandemic.

The starting order

1. Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2. Fernando Alonso, Alpine
3. Carlos Sainz, Ferrari
4. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
5. Kevin Magnussen, Haas
6. Mick Schumacher, Haas

11. Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo
13. Sergio Perez, Red Bull
19. Charles Leclerc, Ferrari

Source: Reuters, STT

Leave a Comment