Italy bans entry to those who have been to six African countries


Rome, Nov 26 (EFE) .- Italy has banned anyone who has passed through six African nations in the last 14 days from entering the country as a preventive measure against the new variant of the coronavirus detected in South Africa.

The Italian Minister of Health, Roberto Speranza, signed the ordinance that prohibits the entry of citizens who have passed through South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, and Zimbabwe. Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini (formerly Swaziland).

“Our scientists are working to study the new variant. As long as we follow the path of maximum caution, ”Speranza said in a statement to the media.

The European Commission proposed this Friday to veto air traffic from the South African region to prevent the expansion in Europe of a new variant of covid-19.

“The European Commission will propose, in close coordination with the Member States, to activate the emergency brake to stop air traffic from the southern African region through variant B.1.1.529,” the President of the Commission announced on her Twitter. , Ursula von der Leyen. EFE


Leave a Comment