Legislative in France: here are the first results

D-Day for the legislative elections: a little over 48 million voters are called to the polls on Sunday for the second round of an election where President Emmanuel Macron hopes to obtain a new majority against a revived left.

Eight of the nine candidates supported by Nupes for this second round were elected in Martinique, Guadeloupe and Guyana, which therefore remain mainly on the left. In addition to that of Justine Benin, the Republic on the move loses a seat in Guyana and another in Guadeloupe, the outgoing deputy Olivier Serva having chosen to renounce the party of Emmanuel Macron for this election.

They had already carried Jean-Luc Mélenchon in first position during the first round of the presidential election on April 10.

Despite the significant score won by Marine Le Pen in these territories during the second round of the presidential election, the only RN candidate to have reached the second round, Rody Tolassy in Guadeloupe, did not manage to dislodge the outgoing deputy Max Mathiasin (DVC ) in Guadeloupe.


Guadeloupe remains on the left: the only Macronist candidate in the election, the Secretary of State for the Sea and outgoing deputy Justine Benin was beaten, while three elected deputies out of four were supported by Nupes. Abstention was once again very strong with less than 28.23% participation.

In the first constituency, outgoing deputy Olivier Serva, ex-LREM and supported by LFI for the second round, not without causing a stir within the party, was elected with 74.04% of the vote.

In the second constituency, Christian Baptiste, candidate for Nupes, was elected with 58.65% of the vote against outgoing MP Justine Benin recently appointed Secretary of State for the Sea.

In the third constituency, the RN candidate Rody Tolassy failed to win a parliamentary mandate while it was in the archipelago that Marine Le Pen had won her best score (nearly 70%) in the second round. of the presidential election. Outgoing MP Max Mathiasin (SE), who came in second in the first round, finally won in this second round (52.12% of the vote).

In the fourth constituency, without suspense, Elie Califer, supported by LFI, was elected with 100% of the votes cast. He was the only candidate in the running after the withdrawal of his opponent Marie-Luce Penchard.


Jiovanny William, Marcellin Nadeau and Johnny Hajjar, supported by LFI, will discover the benches of the National Assembly for the first time in their political career. They were elected respectively in the first (Centre), second (North) and third constituency (Fort-de-France) of Martinique. Jean-Philippe Nilor was elected for the third consecutive time in the fourth constituency (South). He largely beat his predecessor and former mentor Alfred Marie-Jeanne.

The political formation of the former president of the Executive Council of the Territorial Collectivity of Martinique, the Gran Sanblé, was also beaten in all the constituencies of the island when it had succeeded in qualifying its four candidates in the second round. legislative ones.

Higher than in the first round, turnout remained very low since just a quarter of voters went to the polls (25.71%, up 4 points from the first round).


Guyanese voters have chosen the renewal. In the first constituency, which includes the Cayenne prefecture, it is Jean-Victor Castor who endorses the costume of deputy. This activist of the Decolonization and Social Emancipation Movement (MDES) won over Yvane Goua who was supported by LFI in this constituency left vacant by the various left deputy Gabriel Serville elected head of the territorial community of Guyana (CTG).

In the second constituency, Lénaïck Adam, who was supported by the presidential majority, was dislodged from his seat as deputy by Davy Rimane. The trade unionist, supported by LFI, won 54.12% of the votes cast.

During the second round, abstention declined in both constituencies.

Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Martin

Frantz Gumbs, the various-center candidate supported by the presidential majority Together! was elected deputy. He won 67.21% of the votes cast, i.e. 3,921 votes. The turnout was very low on both islands, at 24.56%, almost two points less than in 2017 (26.11%).

Saint Pierre and Miquelon

After a tight duel, the former president of the local authority (2017-2020) Stéphane Lenormand (AD, various right) was elected deputy for this territory in the single constituency, with 50.36% of the vote, against Olivier Gaston. Only 19 votes separate the two candidates and 186 invalid ballots were recorded.

Leave a Comment